Posted by: rcandle2 | March 2, 2010

TOW #8

So last week we had to take another course in the NewsU class website thing….

1. I learned a lot of things in this particular class actually. I learned that a few myths I thought were considered true about writing a lead were in fact a little wishy-washy. For instance, you can start the lead with a quote if you so please. Personally, I think it is a good way to start because it really gets the audience’s attention. Also, you don’t always have to have a one paragraph lead! That was a shocker to me, haha. I learned that there are two types of leads: direct and delayed. Direct, hence the name, get straight to the point. Delayed news leads, on the other hand, are leads that can usually just tell the story. Direct: tell me the news. Delayed: tell me the story. I also did not know to include the So What part of the lead format either. I thought it was just the 5 W’s and the H.

2. Like I mentioned above, a lot of the myths I thought were true about lead paragraphs were not. Even though I took Journalism, I never was really into it as much as I was taking this class. I didn’t know that you could have a really long lead. I was especially surprised to find out that you could have a lead without even having any attribution. I always thought you had to have some sort of citation even if you had no quotes.

3. Now having taken that class I would really like to learn more about the actual story itself. How to write it, what to reiterate, what not to include, ect. I would like to figure out what kind of formats there are other than the pyramid. The pyramid goes from the most important to the least important and I just think it would be really interesting to learn different strategies to not only get your audience’s attention but also keep it there for the entire story.

http://www.newsu.org/courses/lead-lab

Leave a Reply

Categories

