Posted by: rcandle2 | March 23, 2010

TOW #9 & 10

Well at the beginning of the semester I went ahead and made an account for PR Open Mic…I think I might even be friends with the organization on my Twitter account. It can offer several different things to recent grads or PR students. I think that it’s a good way to see what your fellow PR peers are doing and how they are interacting with others. Also, you can connect with them through the website, which is pretty cool. I also saw that you can post your resume on one of the websites groups. This would be EXTREMELY helpful for recent grads who are looking for a job. They have a place right there that is already in the PR field where you can put your resume and perhaps have potential employers looking at it. It’s a great way to get your name out there and really get ahead of the game. Also, if you are a practioner, you could add their little toolbar to your internet browser and you are able to search the website without even having to be on it. You can search for different hot topics or specific things you are looking for and the toolbar will help you out, kinda’ like the google toolbar.

The first thing I ran across when I got on the site was the video about Twitter. They are saying that Twitter may make phone calls obsolete in the long run. I felt kinda’ like the video was against the whole Twitter idea. They were making it seem like it’s a scary thing and that some people are so obsessed they have mental disorders. They said that we don’t need to know that much information about the people in our lives.

I also cam across several blogs that related to PR and like I mentioned before, I think that could be very helpful to me in the future. And one more thing, I read a little bit about how Obama shouldn’t be considered a brand, he’s just a person…I have to say I AGREE!!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

