Posted by: rcandle2 | April 7, 2010

PR Connections #8

Whenever I watch TV I usually keep it light and watch TBS. There’s no real harm in anything they show and it always keeps me in a good mood with a good laugh. However, I am not a huge fan of House of Payne because it just really throws my emotions for a loop. But anyways that’s not the point at all. There was nothing on TV the other day and I just decided to go with it. What I found was something everyone has probably already picked up on and I’ve been taught before but never really experienced. During the first commercial break I noticed that the advertiser’s target audience had dramatically and obviously changed. There were products for African American women hair that I had never seen before. The McDonald’s commercial where it’s a guy rapping was shown. There were a couple other’s I can’t think of off the top of my head but I really noticed a change in who the advertiser’s were trying to reach. The target audience had changed from a mixed group of all races of all ages to pretty much just African Americans. It was amazing how I immediately noticed this change. Of course it was because the show only consists of mostly African American’s with the occasional Caucasian actor.

Leave a Reply

Categories

