Posted by: rcandle2 | April 8, 2010

TOW #12

Basically the podcast I listened to was not all that interesting. I hate to say that and maybe I just picked the wrong one. I didn’t really understand what I was supposed to do becuase it said to listen to the podcast for at least an hour but the thing was only like, 20 minutes long. I probably just did it wrong. Anyways, the topic I listened to was about Rock the Talk. It was how to use social media effectively. I just think it was pretty boring having to sit through the whole thing that didn’t really make sense to me. However, I do think if I had found an interesting one I could have a lot more to talk about. I know that the podcasts can help PR students to stay current in PR and what is going on in the Public Relations field. They talked about Twitter, too. Which just goes to show that Twitter and technology such as being able to stream podcasts will be seriously considered in the future of Public Relations. It comes in handy when you are trying to understand something in PR that you might need to hear. Also, the tone of their voices helped me to understand not what they were saying, but how they were saying. That makes a huge difference when it comse to sarcasm or seriousness. It really helps to raise awareness. They talk about how Twitter really helps to brand themselves and get their name out there and try to find jobs on Twitter. This kind of technology seems to be crucial at this point. I had no idea when I got into the field that I would be having to use all these tools to help me find a job. But, maybe, just maybe, I will have the advantage of these tools against someone who’s proffession requires them to really go out there to find a job, where as I am able to do it on the computer…in my bed!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

