Posted by: rcandle2 | April 19, 2010

TOW #14

I am not going to lie. I really did NOT enjoy taking this course at all. It was incredibly boring and I can honestly say I don’t really think I learned a whole lot by taking it except for maybe what to pack when I’m going into the field to do fieldwork. It was confusing and it was not well organized. It took me a minute to really understand how to navigate around the course. Also, the story they used was a bit dull. It seems like it has potential to be more interesting because it is a great mystery, but the way they presented it was just plain boring. I guess I did learn how to set up a multimedia report for future reference. I was surprised to learn that there was such a thing as moving rocks. Haha, I was more interested in learning about what was going on with that whole thing than how to actually put together a multimedia story in general. I think it would have been a better site if there were more hands on tools and things like that to really help my skills in writing those types of stories. If there were more activities and interactive things on the site. Being able to use the tools and skills that we learn in these courses would really help us in the future but when we aren’t able to practice using them it seems kind of like it was not even really taught to us. I do know now what the key elements of this type of storywriting should be and what types of stories are appropriate for multimedia writing. I liked the activity on what to pack and why because it really helps you to be prepared. You don’t want to be in the field and suddenly need something that is completely out of your control.

http://www.newsu.org/node/338

Leave a Reply

Categories

