Posted by: rcandle2 | April 20, 2010

PR Connections #11

Whoaaaaaaaaaaaa! I was just watching TV on TBS and there was a commercial about McDonald’s egg sandwich thing. Only….it was a Burger King commercial. It was crazy! They were like ” it may not be original, but it’s the best” or something like that. I was like WOW! I can’t believe that they are able to do that! I just really can’t get over it. They were basically telling the public that they stole the idea, but it’s okay because it’s better than theirs. They were perfectly honest and I just can’t figure out right now if I hate it or love it. I’d love to meet the people behind this marketing technique and whoever came up with the idea for the commercial. I’m also curioius to see what the reactions to this commercial will be, both those of the viewer’s as well as McDonald’s retaliation. CRAZINESS!!!

Responses

  1. When it comes to the media I can always look there for a good shock. There is always some sort of competition going on. Like, Coke v. Pepsi, Verizon v. AT&T, and now McDonalds v. Burger King . Everyone seems to have a competitor that they are going after. I sort of admire Burger King for being so brave as to take on McDonalds like that but I have a feeling that it might come back to haunt them. McDonalds is such a big cooperation that I really do not think that this commercial will cause them to lose any revenue.

  2. […] view the post. […]

  3. What I don’t understand is how Krystal’s is getting away with misappropriation of personality with their commercials as of late. It is blatantly obvious that Krystal’s is using well known look alike spokes people depicting McDonalds, Burger King, Chic-Fil-A, and now Wendy’s to promote Krystal’s products. There is no mistaking the well known icons associated with these franchises and Krystal’s doesn’t even change the colors of the outfits the copycats to even have an argument against misappropriation. It almost makes me wonder if the other companies allow Krystal’s to use the likenesses for the free publicity. I like you wonder how they are getting away with it.

  4. […] PR Connections #11, Rebecca […]

  5. I, too, saw this commercial with a bunch of friends and we were all shocked afterwards. We were basically all sitting around the TV in silence once it was over. Then someone said, “Did that really just happen?” I was thinking they just outright stated they stole McDonald’s idea. If you think about it, Burger King is, in a way, promoting McDonald’s product too since it was such a great idea that it needed to be copied. In my opinion, however, this is a great marketing tactic because I really do want to go out and see if Burger King’s sandwich is better.

  6. […] I commented on “PR Connections #11” by Rebecca […]

  7. I saw that commercial too. At first I was confused I didn’t really get the message they were trying to portray. However, you are right. They saying, hey this is nothing new, we stole the idea from McDonald’s so come to use instead. I don’t know how effective that commercial is considering they don’t mention a comparative advantage of going to Burger King. Maybe if it was 99 cents instead, of it was offered served during the day. They just leave us with the idea of “come to us not them.” Seems a little childish and I feel a good bit of money was wasted on this commercial. I do not think it’s effective and another advertisement could have taken its place when promoting the dollar breakfast menu at Burger King.

  8. I was so curious as to watch commercial you were talking about ( I don’t watch much TV ), so I looked it up on YouTube and watched it. I was just as surprised as you! I am not sure how they get away with doing stuff like that, but I am starting to see it more and more, as a trend in big business advertising. I thought it was kind of funny though how Burger King makes fun of themselves, stating that “It’s not original, but is cheap and tastes better” or whatever the actual quote is. Whenever I see restaurants come out with food items other places are already known for (like why is McDonald’s chicken biscuits? That’s a Chick-fil-a thing!), the first thing I sarcastically exclaim is, “Wow. How original”- so it’s nice to at least see that the PR people for Burger King are making sure their commercials can have some kind of response to people’s reactions, like mine, of “Really, they did what? HOW ORIGINAL.” haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

